Whilst trying to apply theory to practice it is becoming increasingly apparent that efficient study skills oil the cogs of learning and reflection. As I’ve discussed on here and in class with the fellow mature students who have been out of academia for 10 years or more, there is a gap in skills needed on returning to study. Sifting through the avalanche of materials and systems available online is a skill some of us teach our students but at postgraduate level a more strategic approach is required. It would have been very useful to have some sessions on study skills before we started on the content of the course. There has been a feeling of being a step behind; having to learn how to navigate the library systems before accessing content, exploring and using a range of note taking apps before actually writing some notes. As we’ve spoken about in seminars, and something I consider carefully in my teaching – emotions impact on ones capacity to learn so mastering these skills should improve my efficiency and confidence. The ALL course provided by CELF will undoubtedly support and of course there is an obligation that we use our initiative but being aware of this need and having an allocated time or space to share study skills would help.

As an Early Years teacher I fully embrace the power of routine. Around mid October, up and down the country there will be teachers whooping in glee at straight lining up and independent toileting. This year I am enforcing routines on myself which I hope will support my learning; as I’ve mastered the delicate art of independent toileting, I am trying to establish core and additional tasks, using the RealizD app to track my phone usage and developing  a healthy relationship with Twitter.

 

This OU site had some good study skills tips.  http://www.educationcorner.com/successful-adult-student.html

This buzzfeed post has some lovely ideas for your study space. https://www.buzzfeed.com/jemimaskelley/instagram-first-study-later?utm_term=.hf5Ja1Aez#.fe4w8JWEx

Image result for wild ferrets
Herding ferrets. Very similar to teaching three year old’s to line up.